Leaders don’t wear a cape

When I returned to work on Monday, I found this note on my desk. It was left there by an intern who worked on our team over the summer, & left on Friday. It caught me by surprise, mainly because (as the note suggests) we didn’t work together a whole lot, and I also don’t remember “acting like a leader”. On thinking more about it, it reminded me of some very important aspects of leadership.FullSizeRender 8

Leadership happens when you think no one’s watching

We often feel that leadership happens is when a situation requires it. For example, when you’re in a crisis, or  you’re making a speech, or reviewing a product, or leading a meeting. While leadership matters in these scenarios, the reality is that many around you are observing your “run of the mill” behaviors. They will emulate you, unbeknownst to you. How you conduct yourself when you think no one is watching is integral to leadership.

Leaders don’t need a cape

Many of us assume that being a leader requires a special title, e.g. a manager, or a director, or a CEO. We are all enamored with this “cape” that we expect leaders to have on when they act like a leader. Again, the reality is that leadership doesn’t require a cape or a fancy title. At its core, leadership is about making your team mates & others around you better, and ensuring their contribution & impact is outsized. To do this, you don’t need a fancy title, you just need to help those around you achieve & exceed their individual & team goals.

Leadership is a continuous state

There is no on/off switch to being a leader. Many of us feel that being a leader requires us to be strong & exhibit leadership behaviors in specific situations. Here the reality is that one can be as much of a leader when they are vulnerable as when they are strong. You can be as much of a leader when you screw up & make amends, as when you make a good decision and follow it up with great execution. Leadership is all the small things & the big things, all the good & the seemingly bad.

Ultimately, this note reminded me of a poem by John Wooden, titled “The little chap who follows me”

“I must be careful as I go
Through summer’s sun and winter’s snow,
Because I am building for the years to be;
This little chap who follows me.”

Leaders don’t wear a cape

Leave a comment